Our Ethos & Values

Our ethos is to value all our unique children equally - and by fostering a love of learning to help each child to be the best he or she can be. 

Statutory Framework for the Early Years Foundation Stage

Welcome to the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)! It is a framework for all early years providers in England, which was developed with early years experts as well as parents and introduced in 2008. It is a legal framework for learning and development in the early years, from birth to the age of 5.
It sets standards for all registered providers and it supports professionals to help children learn and thrive. It sets out:

  • The learning and development requirements, which define what providers must do, working in partnership with parents and/or carers, to promote the learning and development of all children in their care, and to ensure they are ready for school.
  • Assessments, including the progress check at age 2, which help parents, carers and practitioners to recognise children’s progress, understand their needs, and to plan activities and support.
  • Expected levels that children generally reach at age 5, usually the end of the reception year, which are called the Early Learning Goals.
  • The safeguarding and welfare requirements, which are designed to help providers create high quality settings which are welcoming, safe and stimulating, and where children are able to enjoy learning and grow in confidence.

The EYFS contains guidance for professionals on planning the learning activities, and observing and assessing what and how the children are learning and developing. Much thought is given to making sure that children are as safe as possible. The welfare requirements include the numbers of staff required in a nursery, how many children a childminder can look after, and things like administering medicines and carrying out risk assessments.

The EYFS explains how and what children will be learning to support their healthy development. They will be learning skills, acquiring new knowledge and demonstrating their understanding through the seven areas of learning and development. However, most children usually develop the prime areas first, and they are:

  1. Communication and language
  2. Physical development
  3. Personal, social and emotional development

These prime areas are those most essential for children’s healthy development and future learning.

However, as children grow, the prime areas will help them to develop skills in specific areas, which are:

  1. Literacy
  2. Mathematics
  3. Understanding the world
  4. Expressive arts and design.

These seven areas are used to help staff plan children’s activities that will maximise learning. Staff make sure that the activities are suited to each child’s unique needs. This is a little bit like a curriculum in primary and secondary schools, but it suits very young children; and it is designed to be really flexible so that staff can follow each child's unique needs and interests.  Much more information can be found on www.foundationyears.org.uk

Follow Us on Facebook

Visit Us

Centre Location:

Tenby Road

01604 585 219